Common Annular Tendon

The four rectus muscles arise from a thickening of the periosteum at the apex of the orbit. They are so close together that their tendons are fused to form a Common Annular Tendon (the anulus tendineus communis, tendon of Zinn). The tendon surrounds the orbital end of the optic canal and a portion of the superior orbital fissure.