Auriculotemporal Nerve

The Auriculotemporal nerve arises from the mandibular division of the trigeminal nerve (V3). This primarily sensory nerve is found posterior to the superficial temporal artery. As a landmark structure, it commonly splits around the middle meningeal artery before the artery enters the foramen spinosum. The auriculotemporal nerve passes laterally behind the temporomandibular joint, and ascends over the zygomatic arch to reach the skin of the temporal region. Postganglionic parasympathetic secretomotor fibers from the otic ganglion pass with the auriculotemporal nerve to reach the parotid gland.